Non-Life Council



The Non-Life Council comprises 10 CEOs of non-life insurance companies representing the Non-Life members of Insurance Ireland. The council is currently chaired by John Quinlan, Aviva Ireland. 

The role of the Non-Life Council is to take ownership of core market non-life issues and ensure that they are dealt with in line with Insurance Ireland's  Strategic Plan. The Non-Life Council meets once a quarter. Committees and working groups report to the Council on their initiatives. 

The Non-Life Council manages specific non-life issues such as safeguarding insurability, combatting fraud and reducing unnecessary costs for consumers. The Non-Life Council also inputs into Insurance Ireland’s policy in areas common to all insurance companies such as Solvency II, regulation and the proposed Anti-Discrimination Directive.


Mr Kevin Thompson Insurance Ireland
Mr Michael Horan Insurance Ireland 
Mr Declan O'Rourke  AIG Europe Ltd
Mr Sean McGrath Allianz plc
Mr John Quinlan Aviva Insurance Ltd - Chairman
Mr Philip Bradley AXA Insurance Ltd
Mr David Lane Ecclesiastical Insurance Office plc
Ms Fiona Muldoon FBD Insurance plc
Mr Stuart Trotter Liberty Insurance Ltd
Mr Ken Norgrove RSA Insurance Ireland Ltd
Mr James Liston Travelers Insurance Company Ltd
Mr Anthony Brennan Zurich


Contact details


Dublin Address:
Insurance Ireland,
Insurance Centre,
5 Harbourmaster Place,
Dublin 1, DO1 E7E8.

Contact Details

Telephone: 01 676 1820
Fax: 01 676 1943

or use our Query form

Brussels Address:
51, Rue Montoyer,
B-1000 Brussels

EU Transparency Register ID: 978587826097-61

Site Map

Insurance Ireland is an active member of the following: